Patient & Visitor InformationContact Us
  • Rhode Island Monthly magazine recognizes The Miriam Nurses’ Excellence

    Three dedicated nurses receive Rhode Island Monthly’s Excellence in Nursing honors in 2015:

    • Sylvia Weber, MSN, PCNS
    • Janet Engvall, MSN, RN-BC, CDOE
    • Erin Dellagrotta, BSN, BC

    The nurses explain their love of what they do.

  • Working at The Miriam

    If you are interested in professional nursing and working with doctors, staff and other nurses in a genuinely collaborative setting, it’s time to investigate a career with The Miriam.

    A Magnet Hospital for Nursing Excellence
    Search open positions

  • Nursing Recognition

    Hospital Awards

    Through the generosity of our donors and the hospital commitment to recognition of excellence, The Miriam Hospital supports a number of scholarships and awards to its staff members. Hospital awards include the Patient Safety Award, the Sapolsky Quality Employee of the Month and Employee of the Year Awards, and the Arthur and Joyce Hurvitz Quality Award. The Hurvitz Quality Award annually honors three hospital improvement teams that have made the largest impact by improving patient outcomes, saving lives, and reducing costs at The Miriam Hospital. Improvement teams are interdisciplinary, with a significant nursing presence. 

    Department of nursing recognition includes:

    • The Jaffe Foundation Award for Excellence in Nursing
      Edwin Jaffe established this award after being a patient at The Miriam Hospital. He was so impressed with the quality of the nursing care that he funded the award to recognize nursing staff members for their commitment to providing superior nursing care.
    • The Henry Izeman, MD Nursing Leadership Award
      Dr. Izeman was one of the earliest board-certified geriatricians in Rhode Island. Throughout his medical career, he couldn’t say enough nice things about his nursing colleagues. Established in 2012, this award provides a lasting tribute to Dr. Izeman and to the invaluable contribution of nurses. It recognizes a Nurse Leader who has demonstrated significant leadership in the cultivation of an environment of safety and nursing excellence.
    • The Hurvitz Fund provides support for education and attendance at conferences.
    • The DAISY Award recognizes nurses for compassion and clinical expertise. The Miriam Hospital is a proud partner of the DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem) Foundation which was established in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of an auto-immune disease. Quarterly, The Miriam Hospital Unit Council Steering Committee solicits nominations and reviews all nominees in a blind peer review process to select the nurse who best meets award criteria and who models caring relationships.

    Professional Community Awards

    Active in their professional organizations and communities, The Miriam Hospital nurses continue to receive recognition from, and hold offices in, state and national organizations.

    Most recently, the intensive care unit at The Miriam Hospital has attained a silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

    Learn more about nursing at The Miriam.